Security Alert – U. S. Embassy Guatemala City, Guatemala – (September 5, 2019)

Location: Izabal and 22 municipalities in Guatemala

Event:  On Wednesday, September 4, 2019 following the deaths of three Guatemalan Marines in Izabal, President Morales announced a State of Siege affecting the Department of Izabal and 22 additional municipalities.  Accordingly, the U.S. Embassy has restricted travel by Embassy personnel to the affected areas effective immediately.  These include:

  • San Luis, Petén
  • Nuevo Chahal
  • Fray Bartolomé de las Casas
  • Cahabón
  • Senahú
  • Santa Catalina la Tinta
  • Tamahú, Alta Verapaz
  • Tactic
  • Tucurú, Alta Verapaz
  • San Agustín Acasaguastlán
  • Panzós
  • Río Hondo
  • Teculután
  • Usumatlán
  • San Cristobal Acasaguastlán
  • Gualán
  • El Estor
  • Los Amates
  • Morales
  • Puerto Barrios
  • Livingston
  • Purulhá

Actions to Take

– Review your personal security plans and remain aware of your surroundings, including local events.
– Monitor local news for updates.
– For specific details on the State of Siege, refer to Decreto Gubernativo Número 1-2019.
– Maintain a high-level of vigilance, take appropriate steps to enhance your personal security and follow instructions of local authorities.
– Avoid areas of demonstrations, and exercise caution if in the vicinity of any large gatherings, protests, or demonstrations.

U.S. Embassy Guatemala City
Tel. (502) 2326-4000

State Department – Consular Affairs
888-407-4747 or 202-501-4444

Guatemala Country Information

Enroll in Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) to receive security updates

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter